Why I can’t stop watching Gilmore Girls

*SPOILER WARNING*

In all honesty I started writing this post a few days ago simply because I felt like writing about a television series that is very close to my heart. I’d planned a nostalgic piece about a show long off the air and yet still unbelievably important to many fans.

I feel its important to explain this fact, as Monday evening it was announced that that precise television show was to be revived by Netflix. You may have heard of it – the show is called Gilmore Girls. Excuse me whilst I jump around the room with joy.

So I have now been faced with the task of rewriting my previous post to reflect a slightly different feeling. I’m no longer longing for a show that was, but excited for something that will be.

There is no denying that Gilmore Girls has been going through what one might call a popularity comeback at the moment.

It was a CW show for teenage girls; something I accidentally stumbled over on E4 when I was a young teenager myself. Now its all over the internet. Not only are long-time fans coming back together to discuss the show but, thanks to Netflix, the show has found a brand new audience – at least in the US. Every week I see articles ranking the best quotes, jokes and characters of a series that came off the air eight years ago.

The best part of this comeback is the podcast ‘Gilmore Guys’. What started as two blokes chatting about an old show has taken off more than I think anyone could have predicted. A combination of convenient timing and the hilarious banter between the two hosts has produced a fan-favourite that quickly became one of the highlights of my week. I can often be seen wondering around town whilst listening to the podcast just smiling and laughing – people probably think I am insane.

I never thought I could be so excited about a television show. Admittedly, I watch a lot of TV and yet without fail, every time I am in need of cheering up or going through a difficult time I find myself reaching for my Gilmore Girls boxsets, seeking comfort in the quirky world of Stars Hallow.

Clearly I am not alone. Whether it be the complex characters, the family drama, the comedy, the quirky townspeople, or even Kirk running through the Dragonfly Inn covered only by a small pillow – there is something about this series that has captured the attention, and hearts, of many across the world.

I first watched Gilmore girls when I was about 13 years old. It was the episode ‘Chicken or Beef?’ from the fourth season and I was immediately hooked by the romance of Rory and Dean (my opinion of this particular relationship has changed quite dramatically). Intrigued enough to go back to the beginning I quickly binged on the early seasons and was hooked by the ups and downs of Rory’s love life, dreaming that one day I would have the delightfully difficult dilemma of choosing between Jared Padalecki and Milo Ventimiglia.

The second time I watched the show, although still obsessed with the romances of the series, I have found myself identifying with different aspects of the story.

At age 17 I was contemplating the prospect of going off to university and remember watching the episode where Rory is dropped off at Yale and balling my eyes out as she struggled to say goodbye to her mother.

Now at 20 years old I see the show through a different lens again. Whilst I was once skipping from one episode to the next waiting for the next instalment in the love story of Lorelai and Luke or Rory and Jess, I am now compelled by Rory’s downward spiral from perfect high school girl to one that would have an affair with a married man, date a trust-fund boy and steal a boat.

Most recently I recognise the journey of two women trying to find themselves in the world, although at very different stages of their lives. As I contemplate my life outside the shelter of university I’ve admired Rory’s attempts to break into the world of journalism and the decision to up her life and pursue her dreams, even choosing her career over love.

As I’ve grown up Gilmore Girls has come with me. Whilst I’ve left the likes of One Tree Hill and Gossip Girl in my teen years, Gilmore Girls is still something I can watch today and find something to identify with; something that makes me think, feel and addictively race through one episode to the next.

The power of this story lies in its ability to appeal to a wide audience. Its not just a CW drama for teenage girls, and it should not be underestimated as such. How else could it get a legion of fans passionate enough to campaign for a revival – eight years after it went off the air?

Leave a Reply

