Post-Durham Adventures

Hello.

Everything’s changing.

On 1st July 2016 I officially graduated from Durham University. That’s it. After years of blood, sweat and tears (and plenty of them) I have emerged from the other side, Bachelors degree in hand, ready to take on the world – whatever that means.

In the build up to graduation I heard a lot of talk online and from friends that the world beyond university was scary, filled with responsibility and real life – that’s undeniable. The consensus seemed to be that we should want to stay in the bubble of university for as long as possible.

I won’t deny that I was emotional (read: crying uncontrollably) when the time came to say goodbye to Durham and the life I had made for myself there. University was a wonderfully crazy experience infused with some of the highest and lowest points of my life. I would not change it for the world and I am so unbelievably grateful that I was able to go. I have made friends for life and have become a very different (hopefully better) person since I arrived at Grey College in Durham 3 years ago.Yet, I also cannot deny that I am beyond excited for the next step.

No longer constrained by the academic calendar, a mountain of essays and the painful pressures of exams, I really believe the best is yet to come.

With that in mind, things are going to be changing around here.

For this year at least, and maybe more, I am going to be pursuing some different interests that I have ignored slightly since I went to university, namely, singing.

Whilst I have primarily used this blog to promote my journalistic work, which I will definitely be continuing, I am now hoping to be able to share more of my attempts to enter the world of musical theatre as well.

What form that will take is yet to be decided. All I can say for now is, watch this space.

Florence Odette xx

 

Leave a Reply

